1000 euro's to spend..

I’m a bedroom techno producer, and I have 1000 Euro/1450 US Dollar to spend…

This is my current setup placed on a desk against a symetric wall of my bedroom, witout any room threatment but with carpet and curtains(little reflections/reverb when I clap my hands…):

• Focusrite Saffire LE audio interface (FR 20hz-20khz)
  • M-audio BX5a Deluxe monitor speakers(fun for starters, but crap to mix on)
  • Quad Core i7 pc running Cubase 5(fine here, no need to upgrade and enough plugs)
  • A pair of Sennheiser HD280 headphones(fine)

I would like to focus on the acoustic physic side of things, so please be so kind to share your thoughts on new monitors/subwoofer and/or room threatment.

Since there was little reflections and reverberations in my bedroom, I was thinking about getting some decent monitors/and or a subwoofer…

Feel free to share your thoughts!

“witout any room threatment but with carpet and curtains”

You room is full of resonances and reflections - clapping you hands is not a good test in small rooms

Aw man… This acoustic room threatment is giving me headaches man… I just want to get some nice monitors, but I just know I have to threat the room first LOL!

Thanks

Invest in music lessons. :mrgreen:

lol :laughing:

:laughing:

I’d see a doctor about that Clap! :open_mouth:

She no lie…
She no lie…
She no lie…

:laughing:

Well, to be on topic for a change, (ahem… clearing throat… :laughing: ) why not invest in some better monitors AND some treatment for the room? 1000 Euros sounds like a fair bit of cash… A bedroom is still a bedroom, no matter how you treat it, it will not be perfect. (are you using it as a bedroom also?)

It seems from reading here and other forums that regardless of your monitors or room, and in my own experience, sooner or later you will find the right combination of process to get a decent mix regardless of the physics.