1990's sysx data from a cassette

OK, so a bit of a long shot - Back in the late 80’s/ early 90’s I had an Alesis HR-16 drum machine. That went a long time ago to be replaced by a Boss DR660 (sold some time back). I’ve found original HR-16 samples on line and in the back of an old cupboard - hey presto a TDK cassette with what looks like sysx data dumps of my old HR-16 patches. I’d love to reproduce these again using Cubase 12 LE AI Elements.

I don’t even know if this is possible. Bizarely, I have the original JVC cassette deck that I recorded the sysx data with, so it’s no problem playing the cassette, but how do I get it into Cubase in a readable format without owning the HR-16 hardware? Could any of you kind people help? I’m a bit of a newbie with all this new fangled DAW stuff, so please bear with me if I ask stoopid questions! :joy:

Hi there and welcome to the forums!

Although there were several drum machines and synths (and computers of course) that could store data onto magnetic tape, there wasn’t a universal standard for this. As far as I understand it, each manufacturer had their own proprietary way of doing it.
Unfortunately Cubase can’t, nor could it ever, translate the analog information on your tape into digital MIDI SysEx data. And that’s if the information on your tape is even formatted as MIDI SysEx, which is not clear either.

If I were you, I would poke around over at gearspace.com and ask the question there instead.
Good luck!

1 Like

… I’m clutching at straws I know. I’ll post on gearspace too, there might be a solution somewhere on this big wide interweb place! Many thanks for the swift responce, and thanks for the welcome!

1 Like

First, regardless of what else you do, digitize that cassette! Just record the audio signal (you can use Cubase) and render it to a .WAV for safekeeping. The cassette will at some stage no longer be playable.