3rd Party Instrument Sets

I’ve had Halion since version 1, but don’t think I have actually used it in a production more than once.

The reason is, I think, that Halion sounds are often not very inspiring, and there is a mass of more interesting sounds being developed for NI-Kontakt.

I’ve been subscribing to Sound-on-Sound magazine for many years and can not remember the last time I saw a review of a Halion sound set in their Sample Libraries section. Month after month the majority of the reviews relate to Kontakt libraries - never Halion.

In the face of such competition is it any wonder that third party developers are not taking the time to produce Halion sound sets?

Does Halion stand a chance of gaining a bigger market share?

I think it wil.

I own both and they both sound great, but Halion’s work flow and interface is far superior and more productive.
Things like the slot rack and drag and drop of sliced loops and just dragging audio from Cubase tracks, are seemingly small things but major factors for productivity.
I quite frequently read about users that have switched from Kontakt for day to day work because of the more modern interface and subsequently become more involved in Instrument design.

Halion has only had scripting and the macro page designer since the introduction of version 6.
The learning curve is steep. Not so much because of the language or the manual, because Lua is quite user friendly and the manual is quite thorough.
Definitely more so than Kontakt scripting.

The thing is, we are musicians that have to learn to code and not coders who have to learn to make music. So there are unforeseen scenarios and concepts we have to learn and research on the fly.

I think bigger companies are holding back to see what is what before they commit.

Just on the interface and workflow front, if Kontakt is going to have to make a pit stop to modernise, Halion wil make significant gains.