4 reproducible bugs

4 reproducible bugs, all seen with Pro 10.0.20:

1. During playback of an instrument track, a PreGain automation event at exactly 0db which is followed by an event with a very high or very low value causes a short peak towards the level of the next event, sometimes with a noise on top. This only happens at exactly 0db.
  2. For PreGain automation events, seems like the screen position for minus infinite is calculated as … minus infinite. The curve is breaking out of the track area. (Looks like PreGain automation is uncommon, I’m not a pro. I like it because it covers pre fader sends as well. Also the fader remains usable for overall adjustment of the track.)
  3. The bypass function of the PRE rack in the MixConsole doesn’t turn off the PreGain.
  4. The MIDI function “velocity” doesn’t allow expansion between 0% and 100%. The minimum is 100%. That’s because of the interpretation of the input. A value <100% is taken as change “to”. For example, an input of 80% means compression by 20% (to 80%). A value >100% is taken as change “by”. So an input of 120% results in an expansion by 120% (to 220%).

Hi,

1. I cannot reproduce this. Could you attach a sample project, please?

2. Reported to Steinberg CAN-23532.

3. There is no Bypass of PreGain and Phase at all in Cubase. You can’t even bypass these two parameters by itself.

4. Sorry, I don’t get this one.

1. Find a project attached (for Windows, using Retrologue stock synth). Listen carefully when the Playback passes the 0db automation event in bar 16. Maybe listen multiple times because the effect varies. Also try to move the 2nd automation event from -48db to +48db. In that case the 1st event produces a peak instead of a drop. (Maybe this is only related to my configuration but that seems unlikely to me.)

pre_bypass.png
This dot with no tooltip suggests to me to bypass the entire group when set yellow. If it’s only for the filters, then it’s not a bug but a misleading UI detail.