A gain staging question. (solved)

Hi, I’ve been making an effort to get my gain staging in order and have this problem…is there any way to see if a signal is coming in too hot without inserting a plugin? for instance a klanghelm meter. I like to use as few plugins as possible (i get confused easily :confused: ) and would be quite happy to adjust the input using the pre gain knob but how to find the signal level without inserting a plugin?

cheers for any advice, :slight_smile: :slight_smile:

best, Kevin :slight_smile:

Hi. Meters can be set to display Input, Post Fader or Post Panner. If clipping is happenning on input you might not see it if the Control Room meter is set to Post. Figguring out gain staging is an art. The more tracks in the project the lower the per track db has to be. Sometimes I start at -18 per track for a 12 track project with the meter set to Input. If I hug peak on each track I end up with Input clipping on the Stereo Out. I’m not a pro so I hope some of the more experienced folks will weigh in on this.

Just look at the input meters in Cubase, no need for any plugin ?

Ok guys…thank you, something strange though (which I’m sure is down to my stupidity) when the faders are set to input I am unable to turn the signal down :confused: :confused: I move the faders and the signal stays at the same level…
what am I not getting?

best, kevin :slight_smile:

Looking at the manual and it says if the input meter position is selected it is post input gain…how is one supposed to attenuate this signal :question: :confused: :confused:

Use the “Pre-Gain” slider in the “Pre” rack to attenuate the signal with all inserts bypassed using post-fader metering. If you really want to see the meter reflected white using input metering you would have to lower the level using individual clip gain.

Wait are you talking about input level during tracking or while setting up a mix?