A suggestion to streamline some aspects of Wavelab

Philippe,

I’ve been using Wavelab happily for more than two decades. Thank you! There are a few aspects in the organization/architecture of Wavelab 10 I would like to see further streamlined (centralized, simplified). Here they are expressed in concrete steps:

1. Move away from a generic conception of project, i.e. a default template wherein a user performs (often times) unrelated tasks: projects should be specific, starting Wavelab should ask what specific project to open, open that project and save to that project.

2. Make the audio montage the central operational mode of Wavelab by getting rid of the audio file editor as a stand-alone editor (see 3.1).

3.1. Move the audio file editor to the audio montage and treat it as a sub-window.

3.2. Move the functionality of the master section having to do with the audio file editor to the clip/track inspector.

4.1. Get rid of the master section as a distinct stage in the signal path (see 4.2), the last stage being that of the audio montage.

4.2. Use the interface of the master section to display and control the audio montage output stage.

The end result should be Wavelab with the audio montage at its center as a single completely reproducible working environment and the project (file+folder) as a user-defined location of project data consolidation and management.

4.2: or the interface of the montage output could stay where it is (in the inspector) and the master section strip reserved solely for monitoring.

That may be nice for your workflow, but for me (and I guess many others) these suggestions would break the workflow that is perfect for the types of jobs I do in Wavelab. And I use the montage as well as the audio file editor, but do not always have a need for the montage.

Same here. I like the way WL is currently setup. I understand that others have different ways of working but not all of us work the same way. FWIW

I do, too.