Abnormally High Performance Load

Hi all.

I’m running the latest version of Artist 7.5 on an 8-core Mac Pro (2 x 2.8 Xeon Quads) with 32gb of RAM and the performance load seems ridiculously high.

I’m new to Macs having just moved from an i7 PC so perhaps it’s a simple setting.

For example I’m running 7 audio tracks and 3 instrument tracks at the moment with an average of 3 plugins on each and my average load is tickling the red, on my old PC with Cubase 5 that wouldn’t even be touching the sides.

This surely can’t be right, is it?

I’ve been through every plugin and while some are obviously hungrier than others there’s no single plugin or instrument causing a huge overload.

I’ve tried 64 and 32bit modes, disabling/enabling ASIO guard and multi processing, updated my soundcard driver (NI Komplete Audio 6), tried disabling my soundcard and using the internal sound. Soundcard is set to 512 samples with 13ms latency, even dropping to 2048 samples only reduces the load slightly.

Can anyone help?

Full spec and details:
8 Core Apple Mac Pro Desktop
Late 2008 Model A1186 EMC 2180
2 x 2.8GHz Quad Core Xeon CPU’s
32Gb RAM
1 x 250Gb Crucial SSD
1 x 1Tb SATA HDD
2 x NVIDIA GeForce GT 120 512Mb GDDR3 Graphics Cards
2 x Superdrives
OS X Mavericks 10.9.4
Cubase Artist 7.5.3
NI Komplete Audio 6

No, it is not right, it should be better.

• Is this the same if you hide the prefs from Cubase to initialise a new set?

• You should leave Mutilprocessing on in any case.

• Have you troubleshooted as follows?
    Add one track at a time and watch the average load as you add them. Maybe you’ll find something.

Other folks might have other troubleshooting ideas, also it might be a good idea to open a ticket at SB support.

(I moved this to the General subforum, Issue Reports is not for trouble shooting, it’s more for reporting bugs.)

First off, thanks for taking the time to reply and keeping me in the right sub.