Advice for Studio Monitors

I am a composer looking to get into writing electronic and electro-acoustic music. As it stands right now, I do work in my Brooklyn apartment… an untreated room, fairly cramped. This situation is not likely to change in the next few years.

I am looking to buy some studio monitors. Right now I have some decent headphones (Behringer DT-770 pro), but I’m aware this isn’t ideal. I have more or less decided that I’d like to get active speakers (as I don’t have a mixer except for the one inside my Echo Layla 3g). I don’t have that much money to spend, although I could be convinced to spend more if I were buying monitors that will last for years and be worth it for an untreated, cramped room.

Right now I’m leaning towards something that can bridge the gap between me working where I am now, and somewhere better (university studio, my own home studio when I’m in a more stable place financially, etc.) The question then becomes “How cheap is too cheap?” The M-Audio BX5as seem to be on the lower end of cost, and I’m sure they’re not great, but would they be a waste of money compared to my stereo speakers, and would I be getting something significantly better for another $100? My “low end” budget would probably be $350 or less, with less being better. The KRK Rokit 5 G2s look pretty good for around that price too. I’m alright with imperfections at this price point… if I go this rout I want something “good for now” that I can sell on e-bay in a few years.

That’s my take on the low end of things…