An Oddball Problem with Control Changes

Cubase noob here coming over from Sonar.

Today I set up a template for my projects, and it seems to be working well (thanks to the help I received from a couple of forum members) except for one problem. I wanted to be able to make my Korg Kronos synth change KARMA Scenes at precise points, so I’ve set up control changes in Cubase, one on each of 8 MIDI tracks. Each track has only one function, which is to hold a CC#30, which is the CC to send from a DAW in order to tell Kronos to change to a specific KARMA Scene. The first track has CC#30 with a value of 0, which tells Kronos “Change to Scene 1.” The second track’s CC#30 has a value of 1, which tells Kronos “Change to Scene 2.” And so forth up to Scene 8 (CC#30, value 7), which is the highest numbered Scene on the Kronos.

So far so good, but now the odd behavior starts. If I start the transport from the beginning of Bar 1, all is well. But if I start the transport at any point from just after the beginning of Bar 1 up to and including the beginning of Bar 2, the KARMA Scene changes to 8 when I stop the transport. Not DURING playback; only when I stop playback. If I start playback at any point after the beginning of Bar 2, all is well…the Scene does not change unexpectedly when I stop playback.

My first thought was that I have a stray CC#30, value 7, so I then MUTED all tracks in the entire template. ALL TRACKS, so a stray CC would have no effect. But the problems remains. And I’ve checked the List Editor multiple times…there is no stray CC of any sort. And anyway, if there were a stray CC, why wouldn’t it trigger a Scene change when starting the transport from the beginning of Bar 1 and playing through Bar 2? Why does the KARMA Scene change only when starting the transport from just after the beginning of Bar 1 up until the beginning of Bar 2, and then only when I stop the transport?