And.........CRASH!

Crash, crash, crash. Went with Steinberg as I thought it was a mature, established platform but Cubase Artist 10 just keeps crashing. This has gone on for months. Steinberg support doesn’t help and no, it doesn’t create a crash dump file and no, I’m not debugging your software for you. Give me my money back.

Hi,

Try to trash Cubase preferences. If it’s still crashing, attach a crash dump file, please.

Thank you Martin.

I’ve now calmed down a bit and tried your suggestion to trash Cubase preferences and it seems to have worked.

I don’t know if this is the right way to do this, I am not an expert, but if anyone else is interested I typed %appdata%\Steinberg into a Windows File Explorer window and copied the contents of that diectory into a temporary folder as a backup. I then deleted the entire contents of the original folder.

The next time I ran Cubase it imported factory defaults, so you will lose all of your settings and will probably have to set up your audio devices again but it should stop crashing.

It seems to have worked for me as Cubase has not crashed for a few hours now.

Fingers crossed…

Good this has worked for you. I have had to trash preferences several times in the couple of years I have had Cubase. So, when you say Steinberg support was no help, did they even respond to a support ticket? And if they did, they never suggested this particular suggestion?