Any general vocal recording techniques?

I am here searching for ideas about the general vocal recording techniques.

I have already done some searching on youtube and google, but those are too advanced for me as I am new to music production and just an user of Elements. Therefore, I would prefer some basic and general ideas of vocal recording.

This is how I record:
First, I make sure my audio input allows some headroom by testing it before the recording.
Then, I just directly record.
Finally, I apply EQ and standard compressor. Make sure the stereo out channel doesn’t hit red, then export.

The results were poor and clipping was present.

I don’t know if there are any mistakes or shortage throughout the process. Can anyone help? :neutral_face:

There is a lot of info on the web about recording -

Produce like a pro on youtube is good -

have a look at this

for starters - but really if you’re suffering with clipping etc - you’re probably looking for instructions on how to use your Interface as well as cubase as against recording vocal specifically -

JS

Thanks for the comment. I am quite sure that my audio interface is properly operated.
But I would like to have more mixing and mastering techniques. Like when and where to apply EQ and compressors. The more simple and general the better.

You might find this free course useful.
https://www.coursera.org/learn/music-production