Any idea why my stereo buss sounds better phase reversed?

I’m sending a mono vocal track to a stereo fx in paralell, then into a stereo group (submix) that feeds the stereo buss.

I disabled all of the plug-ins- and bypassed all the eq in the chain.

For some reason I get a much more full , undeniably better sound when the Stereo group/submix is phase reversed .

If I phase reverse the original track, it’s hard to say if there’s really a difference in quality.

No problem or anything as my rule of thumb w phase (or mixing in general)is -“if it sounds better- do it”

But I’m a engineer who’s new to the Cubase world, so as I’m sure a lot of you can relate, I HAVE to know WHY this is happening

I’ve read endless threads debating on mono/stereo busses, moving the mono track t a stereo track, RECORDING in stereo- and it ended up being a thread of “passionate “ people, with very strong opinions as to how and why-

I’m not interested in all that, but rather if
A) is this normal? Should I be checking/phase reversing all of my stereo group busses that are fed from a mono source?

B) is this a result of simply sending a mono track to a stereo buss? Perhaps the left and right sum together inevitably leaving the stereo buss out of phase with the mono track? ( this would be surprising to me, but I’m still curious)

C) maybe it has something to do with the stereo track and the mono track combining together and creating a phase “issue” before it hits the buss?

D) absolutely not - I’m an idiot- there has to be something I’ve got going on in my chain causing it to do that, OR I hear as good as your 99 year old great grandfather , the track sounded way better before I phase reversed it, I can’t believe I call myself an engineer, I should quit.

Either way, curiosity eats at me, stifles my creativity, until I settle on a why- then I can let it go :wink:

Any ideas?

Btw feel free to answer D- I won’t be offended

1 Like

I’m not sure I’ve understood your routing description.