Anyone Seen Anything Like This? (Solved)

Hey Guys,

I’ve been using Cubase daily for many many years and I just encountered an issue that I’ve never seen before. I definitely make idiot mistakes at times so i hope that is the problem. I just know this is one of those (though its not a basic one)

Issue: Audio tracks produce no sound. All other track types (Instrument etc) as well as the Media Bay play audio normally but Audio tracks yield no audio (no sound - no meter movement etc). The issue is further complicated by the fact that occasionally (but not always) I can toggle the Monitor button in the inspector and a instantaneous blip of the audio will be heard with the accompanying brief jump of the meters. So…inherently, there are no driver nor Device Setup issues but what about Audio tracks makes them unique and would cause this sort of behavior?
I started using 9 yesterday by opening the project I was working on in 8.5 and all tracks play except audio tracks. Likewise new projects created perform exactly the same - Synth/Sample instruments play fine but no Audio track playback.
This is the first mystery Ive had with Cubase ever. Such a bizarre issue. I’m probably overlooking something simple that will be embarrassing but Im at a loss right now.

Has anyone seen anything like this and/or have any thoughts? Really appreciate the help.

Cheers
Ian

FYI In case its of interest, I’m on Win7 64 dual Xeon 64gb server

Try opening in Safe Start Mode.

Hey jimmys69. Thanks for the reply. I appreciate your reaching out. Unfortunately, I tried the Safe Mode thing and the result was no change - still no audio. This is really a strange issue

Does this project still play normally in C8.5?