Are edits in one layout affecting others?

I count myself as being beyond the beginner stage by now, but I’m still confused by some behaviours in Dorico. An example: for an opera I worked on, I provided a vocal score first. Thanks to vigilant proof-readers, I had to correct the vocal score several times, on each occasion creating an incrementally dated pdf file to email to the client. I then worked on the full score, with the same routine. So both final versions are now ‘baked in’ to pdf files.
However - today I happened to glance at the Dorico vocal score and saw that various items had moved. I first thought that I’d selected the wrong choice for local/global settings when preparing the full score, and/or that (because I was a beginner when I started the project) the vocal score isn’t a part layout but a full or custom one. But I still can’t understand why - to select one instance - the dynamic for a note in the piano part had migrated elsewhere on the page, given that the full score doesn’t include the piano.
As it happens, there’s no problem, but if someone spots another error in either of these scores, and I need to correct them, I couldn’t be sure that something hadn’t moved elsewhere in the score. (For safety’s sake, what I’d probably do would be to save as pdfs only the page(s) with the new corrections, and do page replacements in my PDF editor .)
What I suppose I’m asking is: how do experienced users ensure that their various layouts remain unaffected by work on others?

Was the offending dynamic linked to other dynamics at the same position on other staves?

On the vocal score it only occurs once in the bar in question, viz. in the LH piano staff. In the full score it appears in the Bassoon, B.Tbn., timpani, cello and DB staves (there being no piano in this layout), and the B.Tb, cello and bass ones are indeed linked; the other two are independent.