Arrangement / Organization Tips?

Howdy folks! To give some quick background, I’ve been writing music – mostly electronic – since the early/mid 90s, starting with the trackers of yore (FastTracker, etc). I graduated to FruityLoops (now FL Studio) and Reason in the early 00s, but moved to Nuendo shortly after, as I started writing more live-based music and began playing drums in an indie pop/rock band.

I became quite comfortable with Nuendo from a recording/engineering standpoint, and even a sequencing standpoint for embellishments, string sections, etc. I ended up taking a bit of a hiatus from writing music because of work, but I’ve come full circle and have started up another 100% electronic project again. Being so familiar with Nuendo previously, I decided to purchase Cubase 5 as my primary DAW for writing.

However, I’m having a bit of trouble with keeping my arrangements organized, even with folders, which keeps killing my inspiration. Because this is a 100% electronic project, I’ve got a LOT of tracks (sometimes I do all my beats with audio), and when it comes time to start turning those little ideas into fully arranged pieces, it quickly becomes a nightmare.

Trying to copy/paste hundreds of snippets of audio and midi across multiple tracks often ends in mistakes, and I quickly lose visual tracking of which piece/section is which. With pattern-based editors, it was always a breeze to copy/paste a section, make some edits (add or remove), play it, and move on, but when my sessions become untold blocks of edits everywhere it’s a bit stifling and I end up spending more time finding pieces I accidentally moved, deleted, etc.

I’ve gotten very good at organizing my tracks using folders and busses from the start of a project, so that area is clean, but I really need some tips with keeping things tidy and organized in very visible BLOCKS when arranging, so I can quickly shift parts around, or duplicate and modify without screwing up the song.