audio interface

hello everyone, i have been beating my head against the wall for two months tryin to get cubase le4, m-audio axiom 25 keyboard,and wav files to all come together and create music. after loading every driver available , changing sound cards, adjusting settings, reading forums till 3 in the morning, and installing and uninstalling programs, im still kinda at ground zero. cubase works then it malfunctions. try this setting, then this doesnt work. im exhausted. i HATE pc. im done with pc. my computer is brand new and its still lame. everything is just so difficult. (sorry to rant) my friend has a mac running his recording studio with no hair pulling or screaming. i dont need the big interfaces he has.

i know mac computers have problems too, but after ready 50,000 pages of forums, there arent to many ques or problems with mac. i am buying a 2 year old imac with 2.4G , dual processor, 320 G hard drive, and 2 G of memory. thats what i know so far. my question is what audio interface should i buy. i want to enter midi notes and play guitar and enter it into either cubase or reaper. i want to run a couple vst’s like ez drummer or addictive drums. i have seen recommendations on the m audio fw solo and also the presonus firebox 6x10 firewire.

please someone give me a clue on what i should buy so i can stop wasting valuable time and start making badass music again. thank you for you time

First, it would be wrong to blame “pc” for not being able to get your rig running. It’s not a mac vs. pc thing. I’ve personally seen plenty of mac users struggling when they start off. It is possible you have a hardware issue that is in fact happening inside the PC, but equally likely something else is going on.

When you say “it malfunctions”, what’s going on? No sound out of Cubase…or no sound from the Axiom driving a VSTi in Cubase?