Automate a MIDI Port Change?

I am brand new to Cubase, but have been using Steinberg’s Dorico for a couple of years. One thing I find handy in Dorico is the ability for one track (or stave) to access multiple VST’s. In Dorico’s case it involves switching “layers” [edit: they are actually called “voices”] and assigning each layer [voice] a different VST. I am wondering if something similar is possible in Cubase.

A little explanation of my system: I host Kontakt Instruments in Vienna Ensemble Pro which is accessed from a Cubase VST Rack with multiple midi ports. If possible I would like one midi track to, for example, switch between Spitfire Symphonic Strings and Chamber Strings so I don’t need to split out the material over multiple tracks. (Symphonic and Chamber are on different midi ports.)

At first I thought maybe I could automate a midi port switch, but I would also want the track to potentially switch expression maps (and probably some other track-specific stuff I haven’t thought of yet…)

Any suggestions on how to accomplish this?
Could I automate BOTH midi port and expression map changes?
Or maybe there is some kind of region alias hack that’s available?
Thanks for your thoughts.

I don’t have an answer for you, but I know of someone who very likely can answer you. His name is Tormod and he runs a channel called Sifter Studios. He’s a media composer/film scorer and Cubase guru.
Here’s an invite to his Discord https://discord.gg/c2FY5P3
Here’s his YouTube channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC0mPb-lPz99BX-APxOrOakw

1 Like

Did a little digging and maybe this will accomplish what you want:
https://steinberg.help/cubase_ai/v10/en/cubase_nuendo/topics/using_midi_devices/midi_devices_using_program_change_and_bank_select_about_c.html

1 Like

I suppose if I could link the Program Change lane to Vienna Ensemble Pro’s Ports then this would work (w/o the Expression map change, of course.) I can’t think of a way to accomplish that, but I’ll mull it over.