Available Halion instruments and small story to share

Dear Forum - Happy New Year!

Telling my story and asking a question as well…
I am still learning :slight_smile: and recently tried to listen and code up an old folk song from Taiwan. Not too fancy but hey it gives me a great learning opportunity. If you are interested, here’s the link https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3c9CG7l-C3A

What I did, just like learning anything, was a rudimentary way, by listening over and over an existing recording, and chose the tracks from Halion instrument plug-in to help me with all instruments. So, I added cello, guitar, and some padding electronic piano background as suggested by Bobby Owsinski (Mixing Engineering Handbook.)

I love the electronic piano padding effects, and cello isn’t that terrible :), but the guitar sounds are pretty lame lol. I am not so sure it is because of my lack of skills to modify the timbre of it or the instrument bank is just lacking. I am just amazed by the 40 different “guitar” output in the dropdown I can’t match one that sounds like the recording.

In addition, the “recorder” Virtual Instrument also doesn’t sound like the instrument is coming from a “reed” effect.

Question - did you find Cubase 12 sufficient with all the available instrument sounds provided by the packaged VST?

I am thinking of adding Quantum EastWest and it is asking for subscription so I can access 4,000 instruments. For one, I am not that knowledge with all of them (will take years to master them,) secondly, it is extremely time consuming.

Over the past month, I upgraded my PC to a seemingly powerful HP laptop of 4TB with 64GB - i7 - Windows 11. It was less than $1,200 and a total disaster. The display was flickering on the first day I received the laptop, and then Cubase 12 ran into huge problems. The tracks wouldn’t align.

No question - I returned it and looking for a M3 replacement soon.

Happy New Year - Thanks!

Student_T (aka Student 101)