Baroque with drums

OK - bravely tip toeing in here fo the first time…

I think I’ve got a strong tune but I seem to be stuck in a time warp of the few instruments I know. I want to learn to use samples and give the tune real impact. I have only the Halion VSTs that came with Cubase 6 and I poached the drums from Band in a box.

I’m having a go at learning Sequel now as I’m not a musician and I’ll enjoying trying out the new sounds (have I answered my own question)?

Bascially I start with my tune on piano - then if I think its strong enough I’ll develop it but I find choosing instruments so hard - I could use some production guidance on future projects really.

Barocky - its a demo so not worried about imperfections.
http://www.katejacksonmusic.com/

Hi, sounds interesting but based on the demo it is hard to know what you really have in mind, i.e. how you hear this sounding when you have mastered the samples etc. So, I suggest that you just keep on exploring, learning and putting together new pieces - it will be a rewarding journey.

this would be a great sound track for a silent movie or maybe a game of tetris :smiley:

Hey, welcome then I guess. Like anything it’s all a gradual learning process/curve. My very first attempt at trying to write for orchestra (being a long haired Metallica playing guitarist at the time) was 1 flute, 1st violins, 2nd violins and nothing else because I had no studies, education or most importantly no practice . Each composition I attempted to use some new instruments.

Sounds good so far, the themes develop nicely and sounds like you’re already experimenting with what instruments to use so just keep trying out different instruments combinations. I liked the sound of the accordion, I think it’d be better to substitute the flute for a clarinet and use the accordion more. The Tantalus theme below is similar and might give you some ideas.

I liked the tune, reminded me of a mixture of; - YouTube and - YouTube from Final Fantasy 9.