Bass guitar advice

I have wanted to learn bass guitar for a long time. Now at my age I finally picked up a bass and want to learn how to play
it. No , I don’t want to be a great bass player nor a player in a band. I just want to learn the fundamentals. What
suggestions do any of you have for learning this? What should I be practicing and for how long each day? Any advice is
greatly appreciated.

smoke on the water… :mrgreen:

Rock bass, I assume? Are you a guitarist already? Can you read music? Do you know chord structure and theory? Advice might depend on where you’re starting and where you want to go.

No, I am not a guirtarist but yes to everything else. Over 65 years worth of yes. Probably older than everyone else on this forum, looking at 74 next month. As I said I just want fundamentals or basics. Something for me to play with if you can understand where I am coming from.

The first book I studied was “Teach Yourself Rock Bass” by David Gross, back around 1980. Sadly, it appears to be out of print.

Well, you probably only have 25 or 30 years left to learn it! The book laying around my house is “The Evolving Bassist” by Rufus Reid. I think that one is a popular one, but it is jazz oriented. Might work for you though since you can read music. Myself, I can’t say I learned to play bass with a book (to the extent that I can play bass at all, which is debatable). I’ll claim to be a guitarist who sometimes plays bass, and the main recommendation I’ll make is to play along with your favorite rock records and learn by ear. Chances are that most of them are going to be easy! After all, it’s only four strings, and only one note at a time! Try Honky Tonk Woman by the Stones, I think it’s 3 notes in total.

Thank you for the suggestions guy’s. I’ve played keyboards so long I’m all “fugued up”. Need a break for awhile.

Any genre of music will do right now. Using the correct fingers on the frets is what I’m trying to get right now.

Aloha J,