Battling with a USB mixer (help!)

Hi.

I’m a beginner recorder and I could use some help. I bought a Yamaha MG166CX-USB recorder a month ago and I’ve been trying to set it up (for guitar mainly). Obviously it doesn’t want to cooperate with me. I once got a thin sound from it but nothing ever since - I’ve no idea how I even got the thin sound back then. I’m using a VOX Tonelab EX as an amp simulator and I can hear my playing from headphones but I can’t get the signal to my laptop.

I’ve tried to record with Cubase AI 6 (came with the mixer) and Reaper. I’ve followed istructions when configuring but I might do something weird there, too.

So here’s what I do:

I plug in my guitar to VOX Tonelap EX input (I’ve tried straight to mixer’s line input as well) and the out put goes into the mixer [LINE]. I enable the recording [ON] and press the [PFL] down. The sound is in good quality as I play.
I open Reaper (Cubase is expired) and see that that there’s no signal going in. I check out the preferences → Device:
Audio system: ASIO
Asio Driver: ASIO DirectX Full Duplex Driver (I don’t recall downloading any driver, is it on my PC already?)
(input) first: 1: Microphone (3-USB Audio C… - 1)
(input) last: 2: Microphone (3-USB Audio C… - 2)
(output) first: 3: Speakers (3-USB Audio C… -1)
(output) last: 4: Speakers (3-USB Audio C… -2)

After that… I’m clueless.

Again, I’m a total beginner and there might be something very simple I’m not understanding. I’d be very grateful if someone could help me to get started. Thanks.

Other info:

User’s manual for Yamaha MG166CX-USB (PDF) http://download.yamaha.com/api/asset/file/?language=nl&site=nl.yamaha.com&asset_id=8172

My laptop runs Windows 8, 64-bit. Intel Celeron CPU 847 @ 1.10 GHz

Hey, welcome to the forums :slight_smile:.
If your laptop is indeed running at 1.10 Ghz it might be a bit underspecced, but that’s a problem for later, it should work regardless I think.