Best sound for learning compression.

Hi.
I’ve been faffing about with my home studio for about 6 months now, purely for my own pleasure and a de-stress from a very busy work life. I did go down the “All the gear and no idea” route so I have a powerful system, tons of plugins and samplers and all that stuff. I know there are good arguments against this approach but I only want to have fun getting my own bad songs down so I just fancied having everything I might need up front.

Been making reasonable progress with the little spare time I have and I’m getting the hang of tracking and some rudimentary mixing. But, compression baby!
This is the thing I’m having the most trouble with. I’m sure having 56 year old ears doesn’t help but I just cannot make headway here. Watched all the videos and read the articles but the subtleties of compression are pretty much lost to me.

What one, basic sound, instrument or loop would you recommend to work with that will highlight the effects of compression most markedly?

I can just hear it on my kicks and I can squash my guitars audio down with it but not enough to understand it really. Perhaps I genuinely am missing a chunk of frequencies in my range or something, I really struggle to notice what it’s actually doing.

Steinberg lounge is the place to go with this.
Basically:

• there is not that “one sound”, just like there ia not that “one compressor”.
  • Standard full Band compression is mostly not really about missing frequency range.

Vocals can often have a large dynamic range (from quiet breaths to loud plosives) and compression ‘tames’ that.

Sometimes, if you don’t trust your ears, analyzing the before and after waveform (make a copy of the part so it’s easy to see) can make the effects of compression obvious.

I’m trying to think of a video I saw (one of Steinberg’s, or Jeff Gibbons?) where the effect of compression was made visibly clear.