Best way to port tracks to Cubase

I know this is an age old question, but I pose it once again in search of best practices.

I recorded/sequenced a 16 track song on my Yamaha Motif. The Motif only has stereo outs. What is the best way to get every track to Cubase as a separate audio track? If I solo record each track individually, then I can never get them all to sync up perfectly in Cubase.

How would you do this?

Record one “sync click” at the beginning of every track in Motif. Then use this click to align tracks manually in Cubase. Yes … this is very Old School approach and there may be more sophisticated method like using MTC sync etc, but since I have no experience on Motif, I don’t know if that’s possible.

Thanks, so I take it you mean to put a click at the beginning of every track that doesn’t have an event on the first downbeat?

Or before the first beat, so you can do it on every track.

Even better if you do one full bar of clicks at the beginning of each track (so the song starts at measure 2).

I can sync my Yamaha MO8 to Cubase using midi sync. Is this possible on the Motif?

What I ment was what Strophoid told and Jose made even more clear: add extra measure at the start of the song, where you can put yor sync click(s) into on every track.

But in case your Motif is able to folllow Midi Time Code (MTC), you should configure Cubase to send MTC and Motif to follow it and you’re synced automatically.

Why would you get an MO8 if you have a Motif? :stuck_out_tongue:
Offtopic, sorry!

Thanks all

I set Motif as slave via MIDI sync. I then set Cubase to start playack at 1.0, but punch in at 3.0. All tracks are lined up perfectly now. Thank you for your help