Bitrate doesn't change after dithering

Hi.

Can anyone please help with this? After dithering either with the internal ditherer supplied or using a 3rd party one, my audio file still shows as the original bitrate (32bit). If i open another say 24bit file it shows its 24bit so I’m assuming it is not dithering it down to 16bit as I’ve selected?

I have my mastering plug ins in the master section, if i render it definitely renders into a master but just will not lower the bitrate.

Can anyone help i urgently need to send files to a record label, many thanks
Gary

If you apply dither the actual content of the resulting file has the bit depth you’ve chosen. You can export it with another bit depth though, Wavelab won’t do it automatically. Choose 16 bit as the file format for exporting.

Look at Wavelabs’ Bit Meter. If you’ve dithered the file and exported it to 24 or 32 bit the meter reads 16 bit only. So essentially you have a 16 bit file in a bigger container.

Thanks - i dont think this works though. When i look at the resulting file by clicking open and highlighting the file it still shows it as a 32bit file.

Older Wavelab versions never did this, i never had issues with the older version (6)

This is causing me a real problem over the last 24hours :frowning:

The manual is not very explanatory it will tell you what to do but not exactly how to do it maybe i am doing something wrong? i just cant work it out, i have the dithering plug in loaded and set to 16bit but it never changes the bitrate from 32bit

just tried a 24bit file, dithered to 16 bit - again no change still at 24bit.

Can anyone help with this please? Am i doing something wrong?

I have 4 plug in’s in my mastersection compression eq limiting etc.
At the bottom, below final effect/dithering i have my dithering plug in and “active” is set to on (ticked).

I’ve also set the internal one to 16bit in case its trying to go through that.

STILL doesnt change the bit rate?