Blues horn section VST

My background is blues / classic rock, and I’ve been poking around looking for a blues horn section, i.e. trumpet / trombone / sax. I’ve seen Session Horns but it uses the Kontakt engine and these days I’m trying to keep licenses on my iLok or other such USB donble.

My needs don’t justify spending thousands of dollars, so I’m looking in the range of a few hundred bucks. Anyone have thoughts / recommendations in this area?

Aloha C,

IMHO and without spending too much $$ try ‘SampleTank 3’.

Brass/horns was one of their weak spots for many years but now with ST3;
‘Tower of Power’/‘Memphis Horns’/Maceo Parker (James Brown)/‘EW&Fire’ type horn sounds
are easily available.

There is a ‘free’ version of ST3 but I am not sure how many or which
horn samples come with that version.

No dongle involved and max you can spent is about $350.00 with cheaper upgrade/crossgrade
versions available all the way down to the free version.

Good Luck!
{‘-’}

Mahalo, man. I’ll check it out!

…or just arrange your own horns? The free Kontakt player has a sample set of instruments and, unless I am very sadly mistaken, those 4 brass instruments should be included. I’ve had great luck arranging full horn sections and have managed to delude people here enough that they even pay me compliments from time to time. :laughing:

When I want trumpets and trombones I reach for GPO and it gets the job done. Along the lines of “roll your own,” maybe I should just find some good sax.

If your thinking goes that route then perhaps it is kinda similar to the old days.

What I mean by that is:
just by having a great sounding bone player and trumpet player and sax player does not
always translate into a great sounding ‘horn section’.

In fact it can be counter productive because something is always ‘standing out’.

It’s the ‘blend’ that makes/shapes the over all ‘colour’ and sometimes depending on the song