bug in cubase 5 & 6

i have tested this on 5.52(or last 5 update) and 6

So it wont let me post as a bug. But its simple to test:

I am an electronic music producer so I have a terrabyte drive dedicated to samples and loops and all that jazz…
The whole terrabyte isnt full of samples but its over 300gig worth.

As i started indexing them in mediabay, i noticed, that certain load times went from instantaneous to slightly slower as i indexed more and more sample files and folders.

for instance, when i load a cubase vst, and i click on the preset drop down menu, all the presets (when there were less samples indexed) would appear in the box and be selectable instantly, now that i have much more samples indexed, the preset menu will show a few of the presets, then the little icon in the right corner will begin to animate meaning it is reading/loading. Then after a short annoying while all the other presets appear in the preset box.

Its not a massive dindrence, but it is slightly irritating waiting for the presets to load when your in the zone working on a track.

is this not a bug? can it be fixed? will it be fixed in the next updates?

So are you saying that as the data base gets larger things take longer to find or take longer to load after they have been found?

Hippo

yes. even the samples in the media bay take longer to load. i mean its not much of a problem, but my pc is pretty specced out, i spent the cash on it to be as quick as i could get. These apx 5 second delays do annoy you when you need them to load quicker.

Anyone else out there have a massive sample set not getting this problem?

jpetrou’s observation does not appear to be platform specific as far as C6 and C5.5.3 is concerned. I’ve noticed this since upgrading to C6 on my Macs. Never noticed it on C5.5.2 until I read this.