building hardware compressor. .

I very interested in having a go at building a compressor leveling amplifier.

Either a clone 1176 or an la2a

Being an electrical mechanical engineer im more than capable of building it but would rather than go through the hassles of sourcing parts swotting up on diagrams of others builds I would prefer to buy a kit ready to build.

Sure sourcing my own parts would certainly alow me to make it to taste…but im no expert on compressors ideal components and what companys to get them from.

Their seems to be a couple of companies in the states that have great kits.but adding import taxes I wouldn’t know what its going to cost without enquiring with hmc and distributors for their delivery charges over seas.
Not ruling out buy from the us just be easier to get from uk.
So basically has anyone in the uk built their own compressor using a uk kit supplier if so could you share who…or if you have in general im interested to here how you got on ect.

You must be a masochist! But, good luck. Doesn’t scale as well as VSTs.

Glad you are not trying to emulate a Fairchild!

What? A hardware compressor doesn’t scale as well as a vst? Yeh maybe price wise not in actual performance plugin compressor as good as they are just doesn’t compete to actual hardware.

As for me being a masochist. …no IM NOT

A friend of mine has been in touch recently and has already completed his own build of an ssl buss compressor clone. He said it sounds very sweet.he is about to start an 1176 and has offered to help with any builds I want.

But to be honest I just seen the new out this week warm audio 1176 and at £500 im very keen to give it a try . either that or build my own stereo 1176 with the help from my friend.

Thanks for your somewhat sarcastic reply

Sorry, but I forgot to put in the smiley to indicate I wasn’t really having a go at you.