Can Dorico play Loops

I’m new to Dorico, having used Guitar Pro 8, so to me, it seems like the below answers to the below questions should be readily available, just not very obvious.

I want to be able to select several bars of music and play them in a continues loop. This is useful for checking rhythm patterns and notes, effects adjustments, etc.

On a secondary note, is there a way to select a measure in the write mode and begin playing from there. I know I can do this in the play mode, but that is rather cumbersome.

Doug :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Welcome to the forum! Loops, not at present. But select any item and press P to play from that spot. P again to stop.

This is an FRF - a Frequently Requested Feature! :slight_smile:

||: FRF :||
:grinning:

3 Likes

Dan,
Thanks for the Play info, that works great!

I’m amazed that they don’t have a way to play a loop, particularly in the Dorico Pro version that I have.

I have found that their tutorials are not well thought out and finding things in their manual very difficult. I’m sure I’ll be asking more questions on this forum for a long time to come.

Sorry to hear that @Doug2430 .

If you’re new to Dorico, perhaps you might like to start with our First Steps guide for new users – it follows the process of making a piano piece from start to finish. It was written in 3.5, so the section in Play mode is somewhat out of date, but much of it is still relevant for v4.

Unfortunately at the moment, the Dorico 4 manual doesn’t include the Play mode section, which might be why you weren’t able to find the sorts of information you wanted about playback. Here’s the relevant page from the 3.5 manual.

1 Like

Lillie,