Can I set each kit piece to different channels?

HS sounds amazing, but sometimes a patch might sound “too mono”, if I loaded a drum kit, I want the snare on output channel 1, kick on output channel 2, cymbals on channel 3, etc… How can I do that(without loading in 4 drum kit patches and set each one to a different output channel)?

You just activate the respective outputs of the instrument (from the Instrument, rack, or inspector).
Rather than reiterate the Halion Sonic user manual I would simply refer you to it.
It might also be very helpful for you to check out the tutorial and other videos regarding the Halion sonic both on Steinberg net as well as youtube.

But doesn’t this get a bit trickier?

If he loads a drumset as one program (and I’m still learning, so…) he would have to create an internal mixer inside H5, by way of sending the zones to their own auxes.

Wouldn’t he have to deconstruct the kit in order to route each drum sample to a hard output from H5 into Cubase input mixer channels?

We can’t directly route zones or layers to Cubase channels, only programs. The best you can do is work within H5s internal routing, which is accessible only in the program.

Please correct if wrong.

Edit: This IS the issue with drums, as it stands in HALion. I am curious, because there must be a workaround by now.

Thank you, guys! I’ll read the manual. This is not a big issue, tho. I can always load several patches inside HS, then use separate MIDI track to trigger each drum pieces.

You might also consider loading the specific samples into Groove Agent which was built more specifically for this.

You can do that?!? Wow, I’ll try it!

One easy solution to this would be to simply load the same drum program in multiple slots and set them to different outputs. It is wasting memory, of course… On the MIDI track set the keys for each piece to different MIDI channels and set each slot to recieve MIDI only on those channels.

J.L.