Can someone explain to me how to backup to cloud or locally

Im not very tech savvy so apologies all around if this is basic…

My entire life’s work is on a single lacie drive and lately its been nagging me to finally back it all up.

Unfortunately i have no idea where to start… locally, cloud, or both? Locally sounds convenient but for me but it might defeat the purpose since i live alone and have no network. Cloud is what I’m leaning towards if its a good secure, low cost service that you can recommend. Why would i do one over the other? are there free options?

I have no idea how to even go about setting up my sessions to automatically backup to a local, or cloud based server. In order for my computer(mac) to backup new material every time I’m done with a session, do i need another computer running for that? I’d greatly appreciate your help. :slight_smile:

For local:

You’re on a mac, so the easiest would be Apple’s Time Machine.

There is also a very good application for OS X called Synchronize Pro X. The advantage of this over Time Machine is that you can better control when it backs up (and avoid times when you’re producing). For Time Machine, you’d have to manually switch it off and on (if you needed it disabled during Cubase use, which you may or may not depending on what you’re doing).

For cloud:

Crashplan.

If you wanna get fancy, use Sync Pro X (or something like Bittorent Sync) to create a “mirror” backup locally on another computer, then backup the backup to Crashplan.

That way, you can have the always-running Crashplan slowing down just your mirrored computer and not your DAW.

Also, it’s considered a best practice to have a local backup and an offsite (online) backup.

I had a horrible experience when two hard drives failed at basically the same time. One was my main audio drive and the other the backup for it. Both were complete losses. Was willing to spend $3000 each to retrieve data but they were toast.