can you use automation this way?

hi everyone.

i’m a total noob, and i have a question regarding cubase 8.

i’m working on a song that i want to run the vocals through certain plug-ins (like reverb and glitch effects), but not all the time.

if i want to

1. have the vocals completely dry for 10 seconds of a song, and then
  2. have the vocals glitchy for 2 seconds via the glitch plug-in i’m using, and then
  3. have the vocals return to normal for 10 seconds, and then
  4. have the vocals glitchy, using the same plug-in, but with different settings, and then
  5. have the vocals glitch free, but then reverby

should i be using automation to do this?

is it even possible to change the settings of a plug-in/vst without opening up a second instance of what you’re using?

like with the glitch program, let’s say that i want to have the vocals autotune down two octaves, for 5 seconds, and then adjust the settings of the program so that the next time it’s used (like 30 seconds later), the vocals use the stutter functionality of the program. would i need to open up one glitch program specifically for autotuning vocals, and then open a second program specifically for stutter effects, and then send the vocal line to either instances of that program whenever i need to utilize that effect?

i’ve watching videos on automation, but i can’t seem to find any where the video does what i’m wondering is possible.

thanks for any insight!

Hi,

Yes, you shoul use an automation for this. You can just switch Bypass On/Off of these plug-ins.

I would recommend you to put these plug-ins to the Group Channel, and then Bypass the Geoup Send. The result is much better.

Yes, you can change the plug-in settings via automation.

(EDIT: Martin got there first :wink: )
As regards dry vs effect, you should be able to automate the Bypass switch on the plugin (but try using the Bypass switch manually first, to make sure that the swap is “clean”).