Cannot Get Sound in Cubase 10 EL from Yamaha DTX900 or DTXpress4

Hi All,
Forgive my lack of knowledge as I am new to MIDI and Cubase and sorry for the length of this post.
I have tried multiple forums, YouTube, Cubase ref books/manuals etc and cannot get either my DTXtreme3 (upgraded to DTX900 firmware), or the older DTXpress4 Edrum modules to trigger any sounds in Cubase El 10. I have tried with both Groove Agent SE and HALion Sonic SE instruments with different (and"any") channels and have been trying for many hours now - it also doesn’t trigger the on screen keyboard in either Cubase Instrument. I (think) I understand the concepts yet I cannot get it to work. I have tried both USB and MIDI cables on DTXtreme3 and the MIDI cable on DTXpress4 (no USB option). I know it can be fairly complex to manage settings in the Edrum module with settings in Cubase and the instrument settings, however thought with all Yamaha/Steinberg hardware it would not be so difficult.
I can trigger with external dumb controller (LKP25) but not with Edrums. I am getting a MIDI in Activity signal in the Cubase transport bar so I think I am close. I am only trying with one pad (snare drum on D1) so I don’t think it is a drum map issue but I have tried changing this as well.
I have altered settings on the Edrum modules as well as those in Cubase and GA/HALion Sonic, played around with MIDI device settings, drum maps etc. I would be MOST GRATEFUL for any assistance as I am now losing sleep over this issue (LITERALLY !!). I am sure it shouldn’t be this hard and following link suggests it should just be plug and play - I followed this but don’t know what other stings (if any) are required.