Cannot select line in for recording audio in Cubase SX?

Hi all,
I’m having a problem with recording audio tracks with Cubase SX ver.1.02 My soundcard has a line in input in the back panel and a mic input in the front panel.
I started my project with a MIDI file and am adding guitar and voice tracks. I first used the mic input and recorded some tracks, but my amplifier only has a headphone/recording output jack, not line out.
When I used it, I cannot reduce input gain and the guitar level is too much even at lowest amp volume.
I found my line in jack eventually and want to use it to plug the amp into and get a lower input gain.
However, I cannot change the VST inputs from mic to line in.
Can anyone tell me how to do it? I’m sure it is a simple process, BUT, I don’t know it and can’t really find any info on older Cubase versions. It seems Cubase 5 has a simple sound card interface, but this version doesn’t seem to have it.
I’m a bit of a newbie to Cubase, but not to computers. (since the late 70’s) and have been a musician for over 40 years.

thanks.

System:
Lenovo Desktop
dual core Pentium
4 GB RAM
Microsoft Hi-Def sound card
Cubase SX ver 1.02

So, you are using your built-in audio interface for recording, right? This is not really recommended. You should get a proper audio interface with real ASIO driver. It would make your life easier.

In the meantime, you could try if ASIO4ALL driver http://asio4all.com/ could help you.

Hi guys, thanks for trying to help…
I did download the ASIO4all software…just for fun. I did already have 2 ASIO controllers already available, but I figured one more can’t hurt. I’m still not very knowledgeable on how to use ASIO settings yet.