Can't get Dorico Free Version to LOAD!

Dear Anyone.
Just got the demo version of Dorico for now as can’t afford the full version and I’m not good at tricky modern software at the best of times. I usually use Quick Score Elite Level 2 which Dorico LOOKS like so I thought I’d be able to understand it.

Understand it? I can’t even LOAD it! Here’s what happens when I double-click its icon…

Hope the image comes through when I post this, at the moment it’s a pile of words in brackets! Incase it doesn’t - I just get a black rectangle with “Launching Steinberg Activation Manager” and - er - that’s it. Game over. Nothing else ever happens. I’ve left that sitting there all day once, with occasional clicks on the Retry button, and still nothing else ever happens! It worked once, never again.

Remembering - PUH-LEEEZE! - you’re talking to someone who loves trying to write music first and computers very much fourth in the All Time Fave Things list, where’ve I messed up!?!

I’m using Windows 10 and the Realtek High Quality Audio Codec that came with it. If I have to use Asio, is there ANY way to use Asio and still be able to hear YouTube for instruction vids? My experience of Asio4All is it takes over the universe - the thing that’s using it’s audible, everything else is silent and even after quitting the program you’ve got to restart Windows at least twice(!) to get sound back in a browser.

Yours hopefully

Chris.

I can’t remember but maybe you still need to activate Dorico even though it’s only a trial.

Have you actually relaunched the Steinberg Activation Manager yet? Does it just keep appearing?

Hi Chris,
though it is free, you still need to have a (free) license for it, and that license must be registered in the Steinberg Activation Manager. What happens if you click on the Relaunch button when the alert window pops up?