Can't get External Instrument/MIDI Device to show Presets?

This is my first time working with MIDI Devices & External Instruments and I’m so close… but :frowning:

I have a POD HD500 guitar board that I want to be able to select presets on from Cubase. I don’t need (or want) to return audio from the POD via the External Instrument so those are not connected - but I do understand how that works if I wanted. My issue is all on the MIDI Device side.

I have the basic MIDI Device configed so Cubase can control the POD. The POD follows Cubase’s tempo and I can use a Controller Lane to send Program Change messages and watch the presets on the POD change. This implies the connections are set up correctly.

Unfortunately the MIDI Devices manual has zero info about its own ability to display presets just like for VSTi’s. But after watching videos and examining some of the supplied devices I thought I understood how to set it up, but I must be missing something. The attached shows a working GM Device example & my POD Device.

In the GM example you can see that if I click on the Program Selector in the Track Inspector a list of presets appears as expected.

But on my POD device when I click on the Program Selector nothing happens just like if there was no instrument loaded on the track.

Obviously something is different between the two, but I can’t figure out what.

Hi Raino,

Take a look at the *.txt files in here. C:\Users%username%\AppData\Roaming\Steinberg\Cubase 10_64\Scripts\Patchnames\inactive
You need to create one just like this for your POD HD500 but you need to check the midi implementation for bank information on most and least significant bit. In the text file it looks like this:

Adjust the header and at least the device name to:
[device name] POD HD500

[p2, 11, 80, 0] 12 Orchestra

[P2 (leave it as it is), patch number, bank most significant bit, bank least significant bit] display name (as you will see it in Cubase)