Can't get keyboard to work with Essential 5

I am a computer novice and have bought Cubase Essential 5. I have a USB controller keyboard but I can not get any sound from the VST insruments - there is no blue line on the meter when I press the keys :cry: . I have assigned a VST instrument and have it set to ā€œAll MIDI inputsā€. The computer says the keyboard is ready to use so there is definitely a problem with Cubase. Please I implore you to write answers for me that are simple to follow for someone with no computer knowledge. I would be happy for you to treat me as as idiot as long as I can solve this :cry: .

And you are using what Instrument tracks, or MIDI tracks with the instrument rackā€¦?

How do you set a VST instrument to ā€œall inputsā€? You can set tracks, but not instruments.
Set it to your dedicated interface input, and while weĀ“re at it post the gear you are using, inteface, keyboard and so onā€¦

It always is, it never is the user. No matter how much of a novice, they all know, it is only and definitely a Cubase problemā€¦
funny

I meant that I set Cubase to ā€œAll MIDI Inputsā€ - the left of the screen just above where it says ā€œHALionOneā€. In the white rectangle that appears when I click on it the options are ā€œNot Connectedā€ and ā€œAll MIDI Inputsā€ which has a tick next to it. The big blue-ish rectangle in the middle is the VST instrument I have assigned - ā€œString Quartetā€. The track inspector has the meter in it that should but does not show anything when I press the keyboard keys. I followed what the manual says.
The keyboard is the M Audio Oxygen 8 v2. It just plugs straight into the computer via USB. Dolphin (a shop) told me it is Cubase not the keyboard that is causing the problem but I have seen a bad review of my keyboard on the internet saying it does not work. You can find it by doing a Google search of Oxygen 8 v2. I therefore thought it might be the keyboard. Could it be?