Can't Get Started

I recently purchased a Yamaha S90XS and have been getting accustomed to it for the past couple months. It came with Cubase AI4 and I have never used DAW software before. Because of this, I can’t seem to get started up. I’m fairly certain everything has been installed properly on my laptop and I have the synthesizer plugged in directly through USB. It appears Cubase is recognizing the input as I see an orange bar moving when I play the keys, but the only audio I hear coming from my laptop when I play or try to record is strange alien-like sounds. I have read the getting started portion of the Cubase manual, watched the Cubase tutorial DVD, and read many posts on the Steinberg site as well as the SNinety website. The problem is, the lingo is all new to me as I have no experience with this, so midi-ports and VST and all that is Greek to me. What I need is a Cubase for Dummies manual, or someone who can come on over to my house and just set it up for me. I feel like someone trying to enter a new country but being delayed at the border because he can’t understand the language well enough. I would like to give Cubase a try, but am in need of much more simplified instruction than I have yet to see so far. Anyone up for the challenge? If not I will stick to my primitive knowledge of music recording with handheld digital recorders. :smiley:

This means that Cubase is receiving the MIDI input from the keyboard through the USB connection.

Can you describe these sounds? Are they like bursts of static?
Cubase will take the MIDI signal and pass it to whatever instruments you have set up.
I’m assuming, however, you want to hear the sounds of your S90XS.
Do you have the keyboard’s audio outs connected to the laptop?
The keyboard can’t pass audio through that USB connection.