Can't save or export from Dorico

Hi, I lost all my 3 hours worth of work in my newly purchased Dorico, as I couldn’t save or export what I did. I got an error stating “it can’t save ZIP files”. Exporting MIDI or audio didn’t work either. I’m absolutely furious! I couldn’t leave the session open forever and finally I closed it, hoping it was saved somewhere. ( I saw somewhere - automatically saves every 5 minutes). I’m new to this. I used Sibelius before. This was my first project. If I can’t save anything, the software is USELESS ! I tried to save a few notes after, and still doesn’t save anything. Not happy at all. Had issues with no sound in the very beginning , but I fixed it watching a few tutorials. Like the writing flow, BUT… I wouldn’t do it just to kill time. I want to be able to save my work.

Well clearly tens of thousands of users can save files. Saying the software is useless shouting in capitals is not going to advance the issue or encourage others to help. We can solve this. So, have a look at Preferences, under Files. You should see a screen like this:

This will tell you where the project backup folder is. Take a look there and I am sure you will find backups.

Perhaps you could say what system and OS you are on. As to why zip files are involved, I am, unable to comprehend that.

2 Likes

It sounds as though there’s a permissions issue of some sort.

You haven’t said whether you’re on Windows or Mac; certainly recent versions of macOS prompt you to give permission to each new app to access the Desktop, Downloads and Documents folders. You have to say yes, otherwise macOS will prevent the application from saving.

See Control access to files and folders on Mac – Apple Support (UK) for instructions on how to give programs access.

I suspect this will also affect the Project Backups folder, which is within Documents/Dorico Projects by default.