Career advice?

Hello,
I’m an amateur musician/producer (?). So much so that I’m not even sure what to call myself. The problem is that I haven’t been at this very long but I feel like I’m have a lot of abilities both as a player and mixer. I just would like to know what I’m doing right, what I’m doing wrong and what would be the best direction to go in order to make a career out of this. I have a video and a blog entry dedicated to the questions I have about the video I made. If you wouldn’t mind helping out a fellow cubase user, please visit my website/blog here Unrealized Potential: Will work for food...

Specifics about me, my music and the questions I have are detailed in that entry.

All help will be appreciated, thank you,

jdj

I’m tempted to say “Don’t give up the day job” but that’s too negative.

Stick in and keep at it, you can only get better.

Good luck :stuck_out_tongue:

My advice based on seeing your site, lose the stuffed animal if you want anyone to give you a second look. While I get the humour, and working for food, etc… if you are serious, then present yourself that way. People tend to avoid desperation.

regards

The almost infinite capacity for self-delusion is what keeps mankind from hopelessness and insanity. :frowning:

Hi jdj912 -

“Hold on tight to your dream”. (ELO).

From a general marketing pint of view - it might be helpful to look at how your potential competition is advertising, and use that as a guide to developing yours, and assessing and developing your product as well.

Since you (as you say) are on the beginning of the learning curve, I’d advise you keep on reading/recording/self-evaluating, and learning - we all can only get better!

A decent starting point might be the book I mention in this post: Nice Mixing Book for Newbies by Mike Senior of SOS - Steinberg Lounge - Steinberg Forums . There are many others as well - soak it all up!

Good luck!

What, you don’t??? :wink: :laughing: