CB-SX5 Machie 1620i + Tascam FW 1082

Hey guys,

Its my first time posting here, I am an audio engineer out of Toronto and am trained on pro tools, but after starting up with cubase, i actually prefer cubase quite a bit.

I currently have a mackie onyx 1620i as my multitrack recorder. Its the heart of my studio and it connects with full inserts and i/o via a patch bay to some outboard gear etc.

I have the ability to pick up a Tascam FW 1082 for next to nothing, but my concern is, will i be able to continue using my 1620i as my interface/multitrack but be able to use the 1082 to control cubase at the same time?

I would absolutly love being able to control cubase with the 1082 and setting the 1620i to its input and furher mixing from the tascam.

can it be done?

Thanks!

I’m not an expert mind you, but here’s what I’ve known from in part my own experience, and what I’ve been reading throughout the years …

Being they’re both audio interfaces, and each need to use their own specific drivers, I tend to doubt it. Last I heard you can’t use 2 different types of interfaces simultaneously, as you can’t select more than one ASIO driver at a time within Cubase. This is referring to using multiple ‘drivers’ mind you…whether you can actually use each, for their own different specific functions ‘without’ using both drivers simultaneously - say for example, one as a transport device via midi messages etc, the other as your audio interface - well, maybe then. The point is, you can’t use multiple different drivers.