changing a double barline to a start repeat

I select a double barline

and go to the bars and barlines side panel and press start repeat. I get both displayed :frowning:

I must be doing something wrong…

Cheers guys
Luke

I’m new to dorico, but I think if you select the bar line, hit shift+B and type |: and hit return, it will change it to a repeat bar line. Is that what you’re looking for?

Shift-B.

Ah, thanks. Yes of course, shift not command. I edited my post.
Thanks Dan.

Showing both the double barline and the repeat barline is correct when a key signature or metre change coincides with the repeat barline. The key signature/metre change is placed between the two barlines. Dorico is correct here.

@Chuck Thank you! I did not know that. Makes sense.

Any idea why the time signature flag appears at bar 14?

You probably had a non-standard barline there, and then replaced it with a “normal” barline. A “normal” barline isn’t the same as a default barline, though. Select the barline immediately before the flag and hit delete.

Legend. Thank you.

Out of interest, what would be the use case / benefits of not having a normal barline being the same as a default one.

A “normal” barline is necessary when you’re writing in open meter, because you need some way of inserting barlines!
In Dorico, default barlines are implicit - they’re only there because a time signature determines that they should be there. In order for a non-standard barline to exist, it has to override the existing time signature, and it does that by inserting a new time signature that is automatically hidden. If you take a non-standard barline and replace it with a “normal” barline then there’s still a new time signature there, and it’s still automatically hidden (and it will still break multirests). Just like a key signature with no accidentals (C major or A minor) Dorico has to give you some means of knowing that there’s something hidden there, so it shows you a red signpost.