Changing parameter increments

Hey, I’m writing a bit of code that has me perplex on what I could be doing wrong. My goal is to Simple make the modmatrix depth move by whole numbers. I admit I’m a novice coder but I try anyway. I wrote this. It doesn’t give me any sort of error but it also doesn’t seem to move any parameter. A little help please.

--Modulation whole number values
zone1=this.parent:getZone("Synth")

function onModAmountChange()
	AmountChange = wholenumber

zone1:setParameter("Mod 1.Depth", AmountChange)

end
defineParameter("01ModAmount", "01ModAmount", 0, -100, 100, 1, onModAmountChange)

Hi abject39.

There are couple of issues with your script.

Within your function you want to set parameter “Mod 1.Depth”, such parameter doesn’t exist unless you create it. The “AmountChange” is nil because you never assigned any value to it. To access the modulation matrix parameters you need to use getModulationMatrixRow()
Your parameter “01ModAmount”, it’s probably not a good idea to have a parameter name start with a number. I would do it other way around. (“ModAmount01”)

Do you want to do this for a specific modulation row or for all of them? What if the destination is pitch. Do you still want to use the range of -100/+100 ?

You can try this. It should work for first modulation row.

function onModAmountChange()
  zone1:getModulationMatrixRow(1):setParameter("Destination.Depth", ModAmount1)
end

defineParameter("ModAmount1", "ModAmount1", 0, -100, 100, 1, onModAmountChange)

Or if you want you can create several parameters at once using loop.

for i=1,8 do
  defineParameter("ModAmount"..i, nil, 0,-100,100,1, function() onModAmountChange(i) end)
end

function onModAmountChange(i)
  zone1:getModulationMatrixRow(i):setParameter("Destination.Depth",_G["ModAmount"..i])
end