Click Track Volumes

Hi,

I’m completely new to Cubase, having been muddling along with Audacity for a few years and I’m finding Cubase’s click/tempo tracks to be a little frustrating. Is there any way to alter the volume of the click track at specific points within a recording, e.g. have it shut off for a while and then come back on? There only seems to be a master volume for the metronome.

Alternatively, is there any way to easily generate a section of click track, e.g. four bars at 109bpm, and then have this as an audio track (which obviously can be auto-faded etc.)

Thanks in advance!

Will

There is no way to get the internal click to only sound during certain parts of the track.

But - I have done this many times - you can record a click - any sound you like - on a MIDI track.
100% quantize or draw it in, duplicate it, mute sections, Change it from 1/4 to 1/8 notes or whatever is best for that section, etc.

If you’re into Tempo mapping variations this click - if in “musical” Mode, will change with your map (I slide stuff around constantly doing post).

Also note you can just turn the internal click on and off with the “C” key.

Hugh

+1 for better metronome features… It’s way behind everything else in it’s flexibility and usability right now.

I personally like the PT idea where the metronome is a special plugin placed on a normal audio channel. This is great because you have instant control right from the mixer. And the plugin can be automated too.

Or how about a special midi input which is actually the metronome in midi form which we can route to a chosen VSTi?

Or both.

Mike.

PT does it neatly. But how long does it take to construct a 1/4 bar containing a suitable sound and drag-copy it throughout the whole piece?