Clipname does not change while replacing

Hello,

I was working with a clip in a montage and used some plugins to get the sound I was looking for.
When I finished my mastering of this clip, I produced a CD with the wizard function and saved my work.

Today I loaded the montage and wanted to replace the audioclip with another. I did this using the right mouse and “replace audio file”.

The clip was replaced successfully but the name of the older clip did not change anywhere in Wavelab.

When I click in the clip menu I find the name of the replaced file.
The same in the middle of the clip itself: the old name although WL shows the right curve and plays the right clip.

Q: Is this a bug or is my handling wrong?

I also see this issue. Sometimes when replacing a clip in a montage using the replace feature, the name on the region changes, and sometimes the name does not change on the region and I have to verify using the file tab that the updated version is being used in the montage.

Sometimes the name on the waveform does change as expected.

It sounds like a bug.

This is “normal”, because the clip name is independent from the audio file name. This means, if you change the file, the clip name persists.
This being said, you are not the first one to thing this is weird, and it is plan to do this in a future version: if the file name changes, and if the clip name was the the same as its file name (ie. it was not renamed), then the clip name will adopt the name of the new file.

It would definitely be more comforting to see the name on the audio clip waveform change when using the the “replace audio file…”

In my case, I usually add an 02 or 03 after the original file name if I have to go back and reprint a new file and add it to the montage so the file name is always changed when I need to replace a file. Seeing that change in the montage on the region would be great.

Note that the Batch Clip Renaming function allows you to reset things as you like.