Clipping - new to Cubase

Hi, I’m really new to Cubase. I imported a midi file that I purchased, has several instruments. When I play it sometimes the Average Performance level goes red in a few spots on the track. Other times I play it and it doesn’t. What’s the best way to deal with this issue and why isn’t it always consistently clipping?

Often because you are trying to use too small a buffer setting, particularly on Mac. Also can be RAM related, maybe why it sometimes doesn’t happen - close all other apps and see if it still happens.

Post your system details for more help.

Thanks for your reply. I’m on a PC A6 Quad Core @2.6Ghz, 6G of Ram, 64bit, windows 8.1. Using an AudioBox 1818VSL from Presonus. I fired up the task monitor and watched while the song was playing. CPU @ 35%, RAM 44%, Disk 5%. I closed down other open apps, but didn’t seem to make much difference, still see the inconsistent level behaviour going into the red zone, with other apps off.

How do I adjust the buffer setting, as this certainly seems a likely candidate to the problem? I looked in the manual and it states “Under Windows, you adjust the buffer size settings in the control panel for the audio hardware (opened by clicking the Control Panel button on the driver page in the Device Setup dialog).” Didn’t see anywhere in the audio settings where I can change the buffer size.

I did go into the Device Setup screen in Cubase 7 in the VST Audio System settings I changed the Audio Priority to Boost, in the Advanced Options section. Still see the same problem though, even with this change.

The clips do happen inconsistently, but always in the louder sections of the song.