Compatible Mac, but not new. Any advice?

I’m a Dorico newbie with a shameful confession. I’ve been running 2.2 on a MacBook Pro early 2008, El Capitan. There, I said it.

[Seriously, over the years I have Frankenstein’d the Jesus out of this machine, replaced all sorts of hardware, have opened, cleaned and fixed it many times. It’s been great actually, though of course slower than a new(er) machine would be. I haven’t had need of anything newer, I don’t run all sorts of fancy software or do any gaming, and the money savings of not always buying machines has been well worth it. This gray lady here is not even a portable laptop anymore to me, it has stayed in one place and I have a large external monitor connected. I’ve “come out” to Pianoleo already about this but I thought I’d throw the question wide rather than going on bothering him with PMs (he’s been really sweet about that and says he’ll even test the latest version on an older Mac of his). I hope it’s okay I’m posting this here, if not please let me know where to go. I trust the advice here could help others in anything adjacent to my situation.]

The early 2008 MacBook Pro cannot run Dorico 3 due to it’s architecture, not just because I can’t reliably install Sierra or High Sierra on it. I have been lately trying to do a large opera score in Dorico 2. But I am experiencing unprecedented, truly massive latency (working with such a large score I suppose), plus the lack of a stave condensing feature in D2 is meaning even more work, and thus more latency. It’s just tooooo slow for me to take any longer. (FYI I do have a Dorico 3 license because I started testing and loving D2 right exactly when D3 launched. I only have to download D3, just haven’t because this machine won’t run it.)