Compiling new pc (Haswell-E Core i7 5820K)

Hi guys!

I’m busy building a new system and i was wondering if i have a have compiled a decent system, price/performance

Mobo: MSI ATX X99A SLI Plus
Cpu: Intel Haswell-E Core i7 5820K 3.30GHz 15MB Box
Cpu cooler: Noctua NH-D9L AMD & Intel
sdram: Corsair 4x8GB, DDR4, 2133MHz, CL13, Vengeance LPX (in the future i want to buy another same set for 64gb sdram)
power: Cooler Master G750M 750W, Modulair
SSD: Samsung SSD 2.5", 250GB, SATA600, 850 EVO

Any thoughts?
Is it okay? or maybe not? cuz i don’t have big pocket with money :wink:

ps. i’m using my old case and grapics card

Cheers!

Hoi :slight_smile:

That looks like a decent machine. It helps if we know what you want to do with it, what kind of projects do you usually do?
I have no experience with MSI motherboards, so how they behave at low latency remains to be seen. Maybe someone else has used them?

Hi!

Thnx for your reply!

I want to use the system to produce house music, so i want to use loads of vsti’s, i don’t want to use it for multi tracking & recording live bands etc.

So it’s better to choose another brand?

I’m not experienced in the low latency behavoir…

I don’t know if this MSI is good or bad, so I don’t know what’s better :wink:
I suggest you read through this forum a bit to see which motherboards people picked with a similar CPU.

Additionally, 32GB RAM should be plenty for your projects. The only projects that require huge amounts of RAM involve big sample libraries like orchestra’s etc. I don’t think you’ll need to upgrade to 64GB at all.

Finally, I noticed that the CPU you picked has a 140W TDP. That means it’ll run quite hot in use. I don’t know what case you have but you’ll need decent airflow to keep it cool. (That CPU cooler you picked is fine though!)

Thanks!

That’s some usefull info…

Ure shure about that? otherwise ure right, it saves me money.
I don’t use those library’s