Composing first, then Dorico?

I am writing as a complete beginner in the wonderful process of composition. I have found that any thoughts about using Dorico before I have something written down as notes on paper only leads to a sense of panic and confusion.

Any comments, help ? Any help would be most useful

Don’t approach Dorico with the intent to compose, then.

Just think of it as a sandbox in which to mess about with ideas and techniques, as a means of familiarizing yourself with the application. How the interface works, its overall capabilities, the design principles behind it, etc. Approach Dorico as a technical fascination first, then as an artistic tool later.

1 Like

I’ve been writing for almost forty years, I still use pencil and paper for the initial phases of composition. Dorico (and I am a former Finale user), for me, is for “typesetting” and distribution purposes. For what it’s worth I do not use Dorico for any audio production, only print. I use Cubase for audio production. It’s a redundant process but (IMHO) DAWs do not do notation very well, and print programs do not do audio production very well. Yet. They’re getting closer! Use what works well for you. Getting those ideas down is what’s important, not the method. Hang in there.

I also used pencil and paper until notation software was invented. I now find it just as intuitive (and a lot faster!) to put my thoughts down in Dorico rather than on paper. {After less successful attempts in several other applications before that.)

However, I must say that I think Milo’s suggestion is a good one, till such time as composing direct to software feels comfortable to you.

1 Like