Composing in the DAW vs. Dorico

Alright Dorico fam, I’m gonna get a bit vulnerable here.

I am a composer for visual/interactive media. My process has pretty much always been writing into notation software, first Sibelius and now Dorico. I stay in Dorico pretty much through orchestration and then migrate to my DAW (Cubase) for the final programming/expression writing etc for mockups. I feel this process is important to my voice as a composer as I am very “cellular” in my composition and rely on the visual space of notation for orientation in my harmonic motion and counterpoint. I have also become very fast in Dorico, especially now with the transformation actions in 4.

I am currently doing an MFA program in music composition for media. My professors and some guest composers have indicated that, given the fast paced nature of the industry and deadlines, I should probably compose straight into the DAW. For some context however, all of the people who have suggested this to me are self-identified as being comparatively slower in notation software than the DAW (the opposite of me). Many of them also are not familiar with Dorico and its features for writing directly to picture and that it really is the most “DAW-y” of the notation softwares. Nonetheless, this feedback has got my wheels spinning in concern of ceding what I feel helps me create something unique to the demands of expediency and industry expectation. I would love to hear people’s thoughts on this.

What I feel like I need to do is create some sort of “proof of concept” I finally have a PC powerful enough (12core AMD, 128 GB of RAM) to run the BBCSO Dorico Template. What I am hoping to be able to do is do as much or as little as I desire within Dorico itself and then migrate to Cubase without a ton of lost time Perhaps even be able to create mock-ups with a satisfactory level of quality within Dorico for client approval/notes before I even have to move to Cubase.