Compressor/Input Insert Effects

I’m new to Cubase and am trying to record a vocal track. I’m using Cubase 5 Studio on a PC.
I’d like to use the Cubase compressor while I record the vocal track. As I understand it, in order to do that, you have to add the compressor as an input insert effect. In order to add the compressor as an input insert effect, you’re supposed to open the mixer, click the edit button for the input bus, and then bring up the compressor.
However, in Cubase Studio, the input bus is not visible in the mixer, according to the Operation Manual.
So does that mean that it’s just not possible to use the compressor while you record a track in Cubase Studio? And that if I want to use a compressor while recording a track, I either need to upgrade to the full version of Cubase, or use an outboard compressor?

Why can’t you just add the compressor to the audio channel itself? There has to be Insert Channels in th Mixer. Are you sure you haven’t filtered them to the left of the mixer?

Thanks for responding! Both of the written reference materials that I have for Cubase seem to go out of their way to specify that in order to use compression while you’re recording a track, the compressor should not be added to the channel, but only to the input bus. I figured that if they’re both saying that, it’s probably right. Personally, I have no idea either way.
On page 19 of the official Cubase Operation Manual, it says that the input bus isn’t visible in Cubase Studio. Period. But if there’s a way around it, I’d love to know.

No, that’s right there’s no channel settings window for input tracks. Is the reason you want this is you use Direct Monitoring?